NNPC Board Sacked

Statement by presidential spokesman Dr. Reuben Abati on the sack of NNPC Board:

“To further strengthen the ongoing reforms and transformation of Nigeria’s petroleum sector, and in furtherance of efforts to achieve greater transparency  and accountability in government, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has approved the re-composition of the executive management team of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) as follows:

“Andrew Yakubu - Group Managing Director;  Mr. Bernard O.N. Otti - Group Executive Director (Finance and Accounts); Abiye Membere - Group Executive Director (Exploration and Production); Dr. Peter S. Nmadu - Group Executive Director (Corporate Services); Anthony Ogbuigwe - Group Executive Director (Refineries & Petrochemicals); Dr. Attahir B. Yusuf - Group Executive Director (Commercial & Investments); Dr. David Ige - Group Executive Director (Gas & Power).

“President Jonathan has also approved the appointment of Victor Briggs as the new Managing Director of the Nigerian Petroleum Development Company (NPDC).

“The incumbent Group Managing Director, Austen Oniwon, and Mr. Michael Arokodare (outgoing Group Executive Director (Finance and Accounts), Mr. Philip Chukwu, outgoing Group Executive Director (Refineries & Petrochemicals), and Billy Agha, outgoing Group Executive Director (Engineering & Technology) are to proceed on retirement.

“President Jonathan commends the outgoing directors for their service to the nation and urges the new management team to be fully committed to rapidly implementing the critical interventions needed to positively transform Nigeria’s petroleum industry.”

Add comment

Security code